Vegan D3 vítamín 4000IE

Elexir D3 4000IE vegan vítamín – 100stk

  • Vegan vitamin D from lichen
  • 4000 IU of vitamin D per capsule
  • Contributes, among other things, to the normal functioning of the immune system, to the maintenance of normal bone structure, dental status and muscle function.

With active vitamin D extracted from lichen that grows naturally on rocks and boulders. As the sun is not high enough in the Nordic countries for most of the year, it is recommended to take vitamin D through supplements. Vitamin D3 is particularly recommended for vegans, as vegan diets have very few natural sources of vitamin D. The capsule is made from cellulose, a plant-based material extracted from the cell walls of plants.




In the Nordic countries, vitamin D is in short supply
Vitamin D is formed in the skin when exposed to sunlight during the spring and summer months in Sweden. Between May and September, absorption through the skin is at its best, provided you don’t use sunscreen or full clothing. During the summer months, the sun is the primary source of vitamin D, but from late autumn until spring there is really no significant synthesis in the body, as UV-B radiation is filtered out in the atmosphere when the sun is low. Until just a few years ago, many people assumed that the amount of vitamin D synthesized in the body during the summer should cover the need during the winter as well, since vitamin D is fat-soluble and can therefore be stored in the body. However, it is now known that the synthesized amount is often not sufficient and that only some people have produced the amount required to cover a larger part of the need even during the winter months. Many people are therefore at risk of having low levels of vitamin D for much of the year.

Sunscreen protects – but also blocks vitamin D synthesis
The use of sunscreens has an important role in protecting the skin from the harmful effects of the sun’s rays. It also blocks the process by which the sun’s rays synthesize and create our natural deposits of vitamin D in the skin. Skin color also plays a role in the effectiveness of absorption. The darker the skin color, the less vitamin D is absorbed. Northerners with very light skin like to apply a little extra oil to avoid the risk of getting red and burned, which is absolutely right, but then we also miss out on the vitamin D. In fact, many people choose to protect their skin with sunscreen instead. Many choose instead to protect themselves with full clothing or lie in the shade, which also means that we miss out on vitamin D from the sun.

Vitamin D in the diet
Unfortunately, vitamin D is not found in significant amounts in the diet and especially not in vegan foods. Some dairy products are therefore fortified with vitamin D, including plant-based alternatives, as a way to increase the levels in foods we eat frequently. Oily fish, eggs and meat are examples of foods that contain vitamin D, but in plants it is actually only found in small amounts in some mushrooms and the form of vitamin D found in chanterelles, for example, is in a less active form. Vegans therefore belong to a group that needs to pay extra attention to their vitamin D intake.

Affects key systems in the body
Vitamin D has the ability to influence many of the body’s cellular functions, which in turn affects our health in a variety of ways. Vitamin D plays an important role in the absorption and utilization of calcium and phosphorus, in the normal functioning of the nervous system and muscles, and in the normal functioning of the immune system. Other parts of the body also depend on vitamin D, such as the bones and teeth, and it is needed for the cell division process.

Vitamin D3 (from lichen)

Ingredients: Maltodextrin, vegetable cellulose capsule, vitamin D3 (vegetable cholecalciferol from lichen), anti-caking agent (magnesium stearate, silicon dioxide).

No data was found

Recommended daily intake for adults: 1 capsule daily with meals.

Number of doses per pack: 100

The recommended daily intake should not be exceeded. Food supplements do not replace a varied diet but should be combined with a varied and balanced diet and healthy lifestyle. Store in a dry place at room temperature, protected from sunlight. Keep out of the reach of small children.

Algengar spurningar
What is the difference between regular D3 and vegan D3?
Vitamin D is mostly extracted from sheep's wool fat, lanolin. It is therefore not classified as vegan. Vegan vitamin D is instead taken from lichen, which also contains vitamin D in exactly the same active form as that from sheep's wool.

Tengdar vörur